Getting a little better

First, I apologize for not writing sooner. Much has happened in the past few weeks and I wanted to make sure that I would be able to tell you all about it before I started writing and couldn’t finish.

I now have a hotel room provided by the state sponsored one time only, T.R.A. Which stands for Temporary Housing Assistance. What that means is I’m no longer on the streets for the time being. However, it is incumbent on me to find a job and a apartment as quickly as possible. There’s only one problem. I’m disabled and can not work. God knows I want to but my back and legs have been abused for so many years that the pain I’m in is constant and extreme. You see I always did heavy construction work. Mostly with my two bare hands. Swinging a sledgehammer, operating a jackhammer, or just down right carrying very heavy loads on my back to get the job done. You name the construction job type and I’ll bet you I was a helper to that job. You name it, Mason work, carpentry, road work, house painting, vinyl siding.(I was a brake man) Roofing. Both shingle and hot tar.(kettle operator) I’ve had just about every manual labor job there is to be done. Fork lift operator. I unloaded trucks with the fork lift then would stack the materials by hand. Now, that’s all over. I can’t do any of it. What’s even worse is now I can barely walk which is another activity I used to enjoy but can no longer manage.

Anyway, the reason I mention all this is to give you some idea of the catch22 I currently find myself. If I don’t find employment and a apartment in a given time frame, I’m back on the street. However I can’t work so I will most likely wind up back on the street anyway. Not to mention the apartment aspect of all this. Somebody tell me what apartment complex will rent to anyone with no job, no money and no way to guarantee that the rent will get paid each month. BUT and this is a BIG but, I’ve applied for SSD/SSI. IF and ONLY If I am approved, I should be ok. If not well, you know the answer to that and I don’t like to dwell on it so…

I want to thank everyone for sticking around. Don’t worry, there’s lot’s more to come on “this is no life”.
P.S.\
Please comment and let me know if there’s anything you can offer or just to say hi. : )

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.